Pundarika – David Kruemcke

Amazing Journey – Abandoning self-power Pure Land practice

pundarika-fa

Pundarika – A rare White Lotus Flower that rose from the mud of blind passions…

All mundane foolish persons whether good or evil
Having heard and entrust in the Universal Vow of The Tathagata
The Buddha called them persons of vast excellent understanding
Who are also named by people as ‘Pundarikas’.

My Story
By Dave Kruemcke
********************

At this time, I bow and worship my Lord and Savior Amitabha Buddha

Only Amitabha has the power to save me
Only Amitabha has the power to heal me
Amitabha my only true hope
Amitabha my purest joy

Amitabha my strength and deliverance
Amitabha my everlasting and all penetrating light
Amitabha Savior of the helpless and hopeless spiritual idiot
Amitabha who carries me to His Pure Land
Of Infinite Light and Life
When this life is over.
Thank You Lord Amitabha Buddha.

<<<

I grew up in Houston Texas in a very conservative, middle class, fundamentalist Southern Baptist home during the 1960’s and 70’s.…
It was a very abusive, micromanaged environment and I had a very miserable childhood. My father was extremely passive aggressive. Violent one minute… overly demonstrative and affectionate the next. My mother was a completely psychological train wreck and made my life a living hell.I was degraded, as well as physically, psychologically, and even sexually abused.

Even at a young age I often thought about taking my own life.
The only place I found anything near peace was in nature. I would spend hours exploring the natural surroundings in the Houston suburb where I lived.

Finally… I disowned and completely separated from my family and determined to create a life of my own.

I tried to be like other people and experimented with sex, drugs, and alcohol.

Prior to moving out of my parents house l had already begun a spiritual search for truth and happiness.

This always ended in failure and disappointment. This search led me to investigate various Christian sects, Wicca, Satanism, the occult, and many New Age philosophys.

Around this time a friend handed me a copy of the book “What The Buddha Taught”. Once I read this book I KNEW that Buddhism was the only true path for me.

This path led me to join a local Zen sangha.

I then studied under a Vietnamese Mahayana master. I then joined the Nichiren Buddhist group Soka Gakkai (not a good experience for me).
Somewhere around that time I came across a book on Chinese Pure Land Buddhism. That’s when I began the self-power chanting of ” Namo Amituofo”. It was about this time that I came across Paul and Rick’s online sangha trueshinbuddhism@yahoogroups.

For a long while l was a lurker who would occasionally ask questions. As a practicer of Chinese Pure Land Buddhism I listened to Namo Amituofo CONSTANTLY even while pedaling my bicycle to work everyday (Paul even had to warn me of the hazardous results that could occur from such a practice).

Then, finally, I decided to completely entrust myself and my karmic destiny to Amida Buddha and trust Amida to do the rest.

I didn’t have a very long in-between period before Amida gifted me with his precious gift of Shinjin. Once I had received it I KNEW THAT THIS WAS WHAT I HAD BEEN SEARCHING FOR MY ENTIRE LIFE.

With the passage of time I have settled into a life of settled Shinjin. It is a life of entrusting myself and my karmic destiny to Amitabha Buddha.

It is also a life of LISTENING DEEPLY to the Amida Dharma.

BEFORE SHINJIN : LISTEN DEEPLY
AFTER SHINJIN. : LISTEN DEEPLY

Namu Amida Butsu _/l\_

I hope my story helps someone along the path to receiving Amida’s gift of Shinjin.

Gassho,
Dave Kruemcke

>>>

We thank Dave for sharing his inspiring and wonderful journey from self-power Pure Land practice to complete reliance and entrusting in Amitabha Buddha and His Primal Vow. By just relating his wonderful story about how he was brought  to receive The Precious Gift of Shinjin from Amida Buddha, he has given us a deep insight on the marvellous compassionate activities of the Tathagata. Since then, Dave has presented many videos on You Tube, gratefully expressing his Entrusting Faith in Amida Buddha.

Dave’s story will certainly help many seekers on The True Pure Land Way of Master Shinran, to Listen Deeply and to HEAR :

The Call of Boundless Compassion.

Namo-Amida-Butsu   南 無 阿 彌 陀 佛

>>>

HOME PAGE – The Call of Boundless Compassion

Page 2 – The Primal Vow

Page 3 – Gatha Of True Faith

